Home / Sports / Warner edges Smith for top award

Warner edges Smith for top award

MELBOURNE: David Warner beat Steve Smith by one vote to win the Australian cricketer of the year award on Monday in the first season back for both players from 12-month bans for the so-called Sandpapergate scandal that almost derailed their careers.

Warner won the Allan Border Medal with 194 votes, with former Test captain Smith getting 193 votes and pace bowler Pat Cummins placing third with 185.

Warner and Smith then the vice-captain and captain were each suspended for a year by Cricket Australia and opener Cameron Bancroft was banned for nine months after South African broadcasters caught an attempt at ball tampering in a Test match in Cape Town in March 2018.

Some critics thought the players should never represent Australia again, but all three have returned to international cricket. And Warner and Smith have returned to the top.

Check Also

Asalanka stars as Sri Lanka upstage Bangladesh in feisty clash

SHARJAH: Brilliant knocks from Charith Asalanka and Bhanuka Rajapaksa rallied former champions Sri Lanka to …