Home / Houston News / 17 nabbed on felony DWI charges in Galveston County in April

17 nabbed on felony DWI charges in Galveston County in April

Police arrested app

HOUSTON CHRONICLE EXCLUSIVE: Houston is ‘ground zero’ for drugged and drunken driving

Driving while intoxicated in Texas is usually considered a misdemeanor on the first two offenses. A person’s third DWI offense results in a felony charge. Drivers charged with a third DWI charge face up to $10,000 in fines, between two to 10 years in prison and can have their license suspended. Drivers can also face an annual fee up to $2,000 for three years to retain their license, according to TxDOT.

Of the 17 felony cases in April, three people were charged with DWI with a child passenger. Drivers that are charged with DWI with a child passenger can face fines up to $10,000, up to two years in prison and loss of their drivers license for 180 days, according to TxDOT.

roximately 17 people on felony driving while intoxicated charges in Galveston County throughout April 2019, according to records from a public information request filed by the Chronicle.

In Texas, a person is charged with DWI if their blood or breath alcohol concentration (BAC) is .08 or higher, according to the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT.)

Check Also

Houston rapper, Megan Thee Stallion, teams up with Popeyes in limited time collaboration

HOUSTON, Texas (KTRK) — A Grammy-award winning, Texas native has just announced a new, tasty …